2 Saskatoon attorneys appointed as Courtroom of Queen’s Bench judges

2 Saskatoon lawyers appointed as Court of Queen's Bench judges

Two Saskatoon attorneys have been appointed as the newest judges on the provincial Court of Queen’s Bench.

Colin D. Clackson, attorney at Wallace Meschishnick Clackson Zawada Lawyers, and Leah Schatz, partner at MLT Aikins LLP, were announced as judges on Friday.

Clackson is replacing Ron C. Mills, who stepped down effective December 1, 2020.

Shatz is replacing DL Wilson, who resigned effective April 30, 2020.

“I wish Judges Clackson and Schatz continued success in taking on their new roles,” said Canadian Attorney General and Attorney General David Lametti in a press release announcing the appointments on Friday.

“I am confident that you will serve the people of Saskatchewan as well as the members of the Court of Queen’s Bench well.”

Clackson was born in Saskatoon and attended the University of Saskatoon. In 1983 he earned a Bachelor of Arts in economics and a law degree.

He moved to Grande Prairie, Alta. To practice with his brother before returning to Saskatoon in 1987 to work. In 1996 he and three colleagues founded the WMCZ, which still exists today.

“Right from the start of his career, Justice Clackson has focused solely on litigation,” said Clackson’s biography.

“Over the years he has worked in the areas of personal injury, criminal law and family law, but mostly in the areas of commercial disputes and insurance.”

His appointment as the Queen’s Attorney – a designation for lawyers who have made significant contributions to the profession and public service – was announced in 2014.

Shatz received her law degree from the University of Saskatchewan in 1993 and was admitted to the Saskatchewan Bar in 1994.

She joined MLT Aikins LLP in 2004 after serving four years as an in-house consultant for the Saskatchewan Association of Health Organizations.

She has been a partner at MLT Aikins LLP since 2007 and practices labor and labor law.

Shatz was named the Queen’s attorney in 2016.