Q: We’re glad the family comes by for a barbecue on July 4th. Are fireworks legal?
A: Subject to local restrictions, safe and sensible fireworks are allowed to be sold, bought, and used by the public, but only licensed retailers can sell them (and only from June 28th to July 6th). The California firefighter’s office has a list of fireworks that match this description on their website (osfm.fire.ca.gov). There is also a useful brochure about safe and sensible fireworks there. A cautious step is to call the local fire department if you have any questions or concerns.
Q: We will have our children with us on July 4th and some of their cousins (all teenagers). Are there any legal restrictions on fireworks?
-AS, Culver City
A: It is not legal to give or sell dangerous fireworks to anyone under the age of 18, and it is illegal to sell or even give safe and reasonable fireworks to anyone under the age of 16.
Q: What is the big fear of fireworks? Is it a crime to even sell them?
-BK, Manhattan Beach
A: The main concerns are the potential to cause fire and human injury. Most of the fireworks law violations in California are offenses that can result in up to 1 year in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 1,000. However, possession of large quantities of dangerous fireworks can be charged as a criminal offense with up to three years’ imprisonment and a fine of up to $ 50,000.
Ron Sokol is a Manhattan Beach attorney with over 35 years of experience. His column, which appears in print on Wednesdays, summarizes the law and should not be construed as legal advice. Email questions and comments to [email protected]
Sign up for The Localist, our daily email newsletter with hand-picked stories relevant to where you live. Subscribe here.