Dan Armstrong to steer state district attorneys | Native Information

Dan Armstrong to lead state district attorneys | Local News

Dan Armstrong, third attorney general, was elected to the organization's executive committee by other members of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference.

In this new role, Armstrong will play a critical role in managing the entire administration of justice in Tennessee.

"It is a great honor for me to have the opportunity to serve on the Executive Committee," said Armstrong. "I'm proud to call Tennessee at home and I look forward to working with this team to implement policies that protect the communities we serve in our great state."

“The conference was created to help elected Tennessee district attorneys in their constitutional duty to seek justice and protect our citizens. The Executive Committee is leading this work, ”said Guy R. Jones, the newly elected Executive Director of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference. “Prosecutors have a unique role that goes beyond criminal prosecution. Striving for justice requires difficult decisions, new approaches and an obligation to protect victims and their rights. General Armstrong's leadership will be vital as we continue this mission. "

Armstrong served as deputy attorney general for the third district from 1986 to 2014 when he was elected attorney general. He is currently the chairman of the TNDAGC Executive Committee for Child Support and a member of the Committee on Abuse of the Elderly and the Legislature. In 2008, he received the Southeastern Law Enforcement Training Seminar Award for outstanding service to the children of Tennessee and the nation. He graduated from the University of Memphis in 1981 and from Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law at the University of Memphis in 1984. He and his wife Kay live in Midway. You have a son, John.

The Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference was launched in 1961 by the General Assembly to ensure faster and more efficient administration of justice before the courts of the state. It is composed of the elected attorneys general from the 31 judicial districts of the state. More information is available online at www.tndagc.org.