four attorneys named Excellent Prosecutors

4 attorneys named Outstanding Prosecutors

Dawn Letcher Award

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WTVQ) – Four prosecutors have been recognized as recipients of the 2020 Kentucky Outstanding Prosecutor Awards for exemplary service, Attorney General Daniel Cameron announced Thursday.

“Kentucky prosecutors play an important role in protecting our communities, and the 2020 Kentucky Outstanding Prosecutor Awards recipients are committed to improving their communities by upholding the law and pursuing justice,” said Attorney General Cameron. “I am grateful for the valuable contributions you make day in and day out to improve public safety outcomes for men, women, and children in your counties and counties.”

Each year, the Attorney General’s Office selects two Commonwealth attorneys and two county attorneys to be recipients of Kentucky’s Distinguished Prosecutor Award based on years of service for their community, support from other prosecutors, and willingness to cover cases that are conflicting for other counties represent or districts.

This year, Attorney General Cameron presented the awards to:

  • Nicholas County Attorney Dawn Letcher
  • Lou Anna Red Corn, Commonwealth Attorney for the 22nd Judicial District, on Fayette County
  • Dennis Foust, Commonwealth Attorney for the 42nd Judicial District, reports on Calloway and Marshall Counties
  • Marshall County Attorney Jason Darnall

Attorney General Cameron presented her award to Nicholas County Attorney Dawn Letcher at a ceremony in Nicholas County last month.

“I am humble and grateful to receive the Kentucky Lawyer of the Year Award 2020,” said Letcher. “It is an honor and a privilege to serve as the Nicholas County attorney. Thank you to General Cameron, his staff, all of my PAC friends, my family, my “office family”, law enforcement, my community and colleagues for your tireless service and support. “

On January 26, Attorney General Cameron presented her award to Commonwealth Attorney Lou Anna Red Corn.

“It is an honor to be recognized as an outstanding prosecutor,” said Red Corn. “Thank you to my colleagues who nominated me for this award and to the prosecutors, attorneys and administrators in my office. They do their best every day on behalf of the people of Fayette County. This award applies to them too! “

Attorney General Cameron visited Marshall County yesterday to present their awards to Dennis Foust and Jason Darnall.

“I am honored to receive the Outstanding Commonwealth’s Attorney Award for 2020,” said Foust. “But we owe that to the efforts of our entire team, from my staff to the outstanding District Attorney Jason Darnall and his staff. It is they who enabled and continue to enable our offices to work effectively and efficiently. The assistance of the Attorney General and his office also enables us to do our job in a way that hopefully serves our communities and our state well. “

“I am humble to receive this award and I would like to thank General Cameron and his staff once again for this great honor,” said Darnall. “Nobody is an island, and so is law enforcement. I have been fortunate to have worked with many great people over the years who are particularly committed to ensuring that justice is ensured. Also, we couldn’t do our work in the courtroom without the help of the entire law enforcement community. It takes teamwork to get everything working and I’m excited to be able to play my part. “