Texan laws are pretty strict and dry when it comes to having a driver’s license. As a driver, it is important to know these laws, their penalties, and what they mean to you if you end up in any of the scenarios listed below. While Patterson Law Group is a personal injury company and if you are caught driving in Texas without a license, our attorneys can answer your questions. They may even be able to refer you a great train ticket attorney for free. As with all personal injury our company handles, we hope that if you have an accident with an unlicensed driver, consider having us represent you so we can relieve you of the fair settlement you deserve.
Driving in Texas without a license
Anyone who can get a driver’s license should know that it is illegal to operate a vehicle without one. Unfortunately, that doesn’t prevent people from breaking the law. Texas residents caught driving for the first time without a valid driver’s license can face a fine of up to $ 200. If you break this law for the second time in a year, it becomes an offense with an additional fine, which can range from $ 25 to $ 200. And if you break the law for the third time in a year, you will now face a fine and can also face a jail sentence of anywhere from 72 hours to six months. It should be emphasized that if you injure or kill someone in an accident caused while driving without a license, the penalty becomes much more severe and costly. The risk is just not worth the price.
Driving without a license on person in Texas
Sometimes life just happens and we all have those days when you run out the door with your keys in hand with no time to waste. You arrive halfway to your destination and, as luck would have it, you are run over. Only then did you realize you had left your driver’s license at home. If your luck changes, you might get a written warning, but chances are you’ll get a ticket if you can’t show a valid license. Fortunately, Texas driving laws are much more lenient when it comes to not having your driver’s license with you. In this case, you can avoid conviction by showing your driver’s license to the judge as evidence that your driver’s license is in good condition and that you can continue to drive legally. Only then will you avoid further penalties and go after paying a minimal discharge fee.
Driving without a license from outside the state
Whether you’ve just moved here or just passing through, you still need to have a valid driver’s license to drive on Texas highways. If you get run over and don’t have your out-of-state license with you, chances are you’ll get a ticket if you can’t prove that your license exists and is valid as it was issued. Driving with a revoked or suspended driver’s license will only mean more trouble for you, especially if you cause an accident. You could face hefty fines, jail terms, and having your suspension extended further. If you recently moved to Texas, you have up to 90 days to obtain a valid Texas license. Failure to do so could result in a fine of $ 200. Fortunately for those new to Texas, the Texas Department of Public Safety makes it quick and easy to transfer your overseas license to Texas while your current license is still valid.
Talk to an attorney if you’ve had a car accident with an unlicensed driver
The chances of getting into an accident with an unlicensed driver seem slim, but the fact is, it can happen to you or someone you know at some point. For this reason, we think it is important to provide you with this general information – no one wants to get into this situation uninformed. We know that every individual’s situation can be difficult and, at times, downright confusing. That is why it is important that we let you know that we are there for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It’s always free to call our lawyers for answers to your questions, and we hope you will allow us to help. We know the Texas driving laws and are always ready to fight for our customers, no matter what.
We go the extra mile for our customers. Call our Patterson Law Group team at 817-784-2000 today for a free initial consultation on your case.